www.timesleader.com News Sports Weather Obituaries Features Business People Opinion Video Contact Us Classifieds

W-B Area School Board reorganizes for the year

WILKES-BARRE -- Teresa McGuire was elected the new president of the Wilkes-Barre Area School Board at a reorganization meeting held Monday.

This was an off year for public elections of school board members, so no new members were seated.

However, following usual practice, the board chose new officers to serve for the coming year, including McGuire and James Susek, who will serve as vice president.

McGuire and Susek replaced James Height and Maryanne Toole, respectively.

Toole and Brian Dunn were reappointed to serve as two of the district’s representatives to the Wilkes-Barre Area Vocational-Technical School joint operating committee.

In addition, Toole was named as the Pennsylvania School Board Association legislative chairperson, serving as the district’s contact for the PSBA’s governmental relations efforts, as well as participate in county-level legislative action meetings with the general assembly.

She will also serve as the PSBA representative to the Region 7 Cabinet.

Debra Manarski was reappointed assistant secretary to the board of education for a new term, ending in December 2007.

The board also set the time and place of regular board meetings for the next year. The voting meetings will be held on the second Wednesday of each month at 6 p.m. in the board room in the Administration Building on South Main Street.

Committee meetings will be held on the Monday before the second Wednesday at 6:15 p.m. in the board room.

The Weekender Go Lackawanna Timesleader The Dallas Post Tunkhannock Times Impressions Media The Abington Journal Hazelton Times Five Mountain Times El Mensajero Pittston Sunday Dispatch Creative Circle Media Image Map