www.timesleader.com News Sports Weather Obituaries Features Business People Opinion Video Contact Us Classifieds

High school seniors graduate from Upward Bound Program

Seniors from Luzerne County high schools recently were honored for their achievements at the Wilkes University Upward Bound Program’s 2009 commencement ceremony. All 25 seniors received diplomas and eight students were honored for their outstanding achievements in academics, citizenship, service, progress and commitment. Award winners were: Marjorie Whispell, Pittston Area High School; Tiara Carey, Lake-Lehman High School; Kaitlyn Purdy, Pittston Area High School; Samantha Hunter, Hanover Area High School; Mariah Fabbri, Pittston Area High School; Kevin Pawlaski, Northwest Area High School; Catherine Fahey, Hanover Area High School; Jennifer Earley, Hanover Area High School. Donna Chajko, a 1981 graduate of Upward Bound, received the Service to the Youth Award for her support of the program. Graduating seniors, from left, first row: Jessica Kramer, Coughlin High School; Fahey; Ariel Flores, Coughlin High School; Jill Suda, Wyoming Valley West High School; Angela Smith, Nanticoke Area High School; Kaitlyn Purdy; Hunter. Second row: Carey; Earley; Whispell; Christine Reed, Wyoming Valley West High School; Amy Linn Zdipko, Holy Redeemer High School; Fabbri; Shannon Provenzano, Greater Nanticoke High School; Katheryn Avila, Hanover Area High School. Third row: Xiomara Rolon, Meyers High School; Brianna Purdy, Pittston Area High School; Amanda Steele, Northwest Area High School; Johnathan Myrkalo, Pittston Area High School; Robert Dogal, Holy Redeemer High School; David Davenport, Northwest Area High School; Lake Gemzik, Meyers High School. Fourth row: Jonathan Hogan, Meyers High School; Allan Berlew, Coughlin High School; Pawlaski.

The Weekender Go Lackawanna Timesleader The Dallas Post Tunkhannock Times Impressions Media The Abington Journal Hazelton Times Five Mountain Times El Mensajero Pittston Sunday Dispatch Creative Circle Media Image Map